The external view
The church was built between early 1748 and 1783, as the inscription, on the plaster decoration which dominates the central nave, proves. On the late Baroque style façade, there are two defined architectural styles, a higer one and a lower one separated by a cornice. The lower order is marked by the alternation of concave and convex surfaces, while the upper part is characterized, on the central body, by the about 120 feet high monumental bell realized in 1792. The façade is enlivened by concavity and convexity successions and by six pilasters which emphasize the tall entrance portal with two side entrances. The ample amphitheater parvise, which seems to embrace people simbolically, was realised in 1803 to dam rainwater.
The interior, with a Latin cross layout, is characterized by three naves and the main one is intersected with the ample transept. In correspondence with the cross vault there is a dome, decorated in the centre with a dove, symbol of the Holy Spirit, and with cherubs, surfaced after the recent restoration. Two side apses, containing respectively the Holy Sacrament chapel and the Pomarico's patron saint chapel, flank the majestic central semicircular apse: in the first there is the painting "Descent and Trinity" by Pietro Antonio Ferro (1615), stored previously in S.Rocco al Tempone. The presbytery houses the decorated marble-inlaid altar sormounted by the iron altar machine by F. Paolo Giordano of Andria. On the 12th of April 1789, it was collocated on the altar and inaugurated in 1790, on the occasion of the St. Michael the Archangel feast. On the right and on the left, the transept houses two carved and painted altars, with two paintings: the first (1813) by an anonymous Lucanian artist represents the "Lady of the Rosary", the second (1601) represents "The Virgin Mary, St. Francis and St. Anthony of Padua" by Pietro Antonio Ferro. This last one is framed by an altarpiece by the carver Master Francesco Paradiso (1698-99) and later gilded by the Master Rosatis. The aisles house chapels dedicated to some of Pomarico's most important families, with marble-inlaid altars and paintings like: "The crowned Virgin", "St. Francis" and "The eternal Father" (1500) by Teodoro D'Errico. the olive wood and elm-inlaid pulpit is worthy of attention. The profusely decorated vaults, by the Milanese masters Giuseppe Santillo, Berardino Tabacco and Sante Regolo, were considerably restored after the earthquake in the 1980s. On the main portal there is an organ, by local carvers, bought by Franciscans from Montescaglioso in 1786. In the sacristy you can also find silver church supplies, wood reliquaries, a miniature choral by Girolamo Todisco and paintings by Francesco Fracanzano and Antonio Vaccaro.